Thriller Books

Supernatural Thrillers

Silence in the Woods

In 1917, four friends and photojournalists set out in the woods looking for answers. Why have so many hikers and hunters gone missing in the area of Shiny Creek Trail?

No one imagines the evil lurking in a remote cave. A horrifying discovery leaves one person dead and two others missing. Two months later, Paul, one of the four, returns to the forest to find his wife. But will he find her before someone—or something—finds him?

Silence in the Woods is the long-awaited prequel to Shadow in the Woods and delves into the frightening territory of the supernatural and the human mind. 

Buy the Kindle version or the print version via Amazon (more retailers coming soon).

Green Mountain Trilogy

Now available for the first time in a trilogy format, readers can enjoy a collection of Choquette’s most popular supernatural suspense titles. Enjoy 3 popular books in one:

  • Let the Dead Rest
  • Shadow in the Woods
  •  Dark Circle

Fans of Ruth Ware, Heather Graham and John Saul will enjoy Choquette’s atmospheric, chilling tales packed with twists and turns.

All three novels are set in rural or small town northwestern Vermont.

Buy on Amazon

Let the Dead Rest

After losing both her parents and her long-time boyfriend, doll sculptor Isabel Joven is emotionally raw. When a mysterious gift—a vintage doll—arrives, Isabel can’t imagine the dark shadow it will cast on her life…

In 1944, Etta Hayes is over-the-moon excited to welcome home her WWII fiancé. But the doll he brings home leaves Etta feeling edgy and frightened. Will she unravel the doll’s dark secrets too late? 

Set in two parallel timelines, Let the Dead Rest is a gripping, twisty-turning supernatural suspense novel.

​Buy on Amazon
Buy on Kobo
​Buy on other online bookstores

Shadow in the Woods

Six go into the woods. Three come out. 

Addie Preston, a new mental health counselor, is flattered when her colleague asks her to co-lead an intensive Ecotherapy weekend for a small group of clients. The group of six head into the remote trails of the Green Mountains. 

As a storm engulfs the area, the group takes refuge in a cave off of the trail. No one is prepared for what they will discover. 
Or what will discover them. ​

Buy on Amazon

Dark Circle

When Sarah Solomon and her husband, Cole, move to northwestern Vermont, it’s to get a fresh start. But strange things are happening in their gated community. Why are the new neighbors so hostile? And who is the old Abenaki woman in the woods? Is Sarah, recovering from a psychiatric stay, imagining these things?

As she tries to unravel the mystery, the community’s secrets are dug up along with a history that dangerous people want very much to stay buried.

Buy on Amazon
Buy on Kobo
Buy on other online bookstores

Action-Packed Thriller/Mysteries

Epidemic

Everett James, a reporter in New England, finds himself in the middle of the most important investigation of his life. When a deadly virus, H1N2, breaks out in the small town of St. Albans, Vermont, James takes the story. But his research turns up more questions than answers.

What’s the link between the state’s largest pharmaceutical company, BeckePharm, and Palmer Laboratories, a New York-based upstart drug company? How did the virus, a mutated strain of the Avian Flu, end up in such a rural area? As the death toll rises, James must find the answers before running out of time.

Buy on Amazon
Buy on Kobo
Buy on other online bookstores

Subversion: Tayt Waters Mystery Book I

Tayt Waters can’t help herself. When the justice system fails people, she’s compelled to take action. Who will help if she doesn’t?

When Tayt’s estranged father is the key suspect in a local murder case, Tayt is floored. How could her father—responsible and upstanding to the point of perfection—be involved? As she races to find answers, she discovers murder isn’t his only transgression. The further she digs; the more danger she discovers. Just how far is too far when your life is at stake? Tayt is about to find out.

Buy​ on Amazon
Buy on Kobo
Buy on other online bookstores

Restitution: Tayt Waters Mystery Book II

*Sequel to Subversion

Returning to work at her security firm following an unexpected medical leave, Tayt Waters finds herself tangling with a philanthropist farmer who is anything but the upstanding member of the community he pretends to be and looking for the missing boyfriend of a local debutante. Throw in a bachelor party with a surprise guest, a stalker, a potential love interest and a Glock—and Tayt may just win the title of busiest woman in Franklin County, Vermont. 

Will the after-hours vigilante save the day, or will Tayt find herself in a perilous situation she can’t escape from?​

Buy on Amazon
Buy on Kobo
Buy on other online bookstores

Books For Writers

The 15-Minute Novelist

Have you started writing but then given up on your first novel? Do you have a hoard of partially finished manuscripts languishing on your hard drive? Do you dream of holding your book in your hands one day … but can’t seem to find the time to write the first draft?

Packed with helpful tips, personal insights into writing-related resistance, humor and end-of-chapter assignments called, “Go Deeper,” The 15-Minute Novelist will guide writers through the process of starting and finishing the first draft of their complete novel.

“The 15-Minute Novelist is the exact short, friendly, how-to guide that every writer should own — whether teen novelist, mom of small kids, or cubicle-focused manager … Dreaming of becoming a writer? It’s easy: Grab some paper, a pencil or pen, and The 15-Minute Novelist. This is the short, friendly guide that can make the dream come true.”

Beth Kanell, Author of The Long Shadow

Choquette’s warm, personal tone and experience in the field of psychology help to ensure that readers aren’t simply going through the motions but are successfully engaged in hands-on learning. Application is key to The 15-Minute Novelist, and Choquette shares practical tips, motivations and tricks to help writers meet their goal … faster than they thought possible.

Buy on Amazon
Buy on Kobo